Lahm, Schuster and Rummenigge inducted into the Hall of Fame

Lahm, Schuster and Rummenigge inducted into the Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame of German football received prominent additions on Friday.

Three former world stars are the newest members in the Hall of Fame of German football: Philipp Lahm, captain of the 2014 World Cup team, midfield icon Bernd Schuster and two-time runner-up Karl-Heinz Rummenigge were chosen by a jury of leading sports journalists. The trio will be officially admitted at an award ceremony next year in the German Football Museum in Dortmund.

Long-time Bayern professional Lahm (38) is the second player from the world champion team in Rio de Janeiro after Miroslav Klose in the Hall of Fame. The former Bayern CEO Rummenigge (67) was not world champion, but as captain of the German Football Association (DFB) he was twice in the final (1982 and 1986). Schuster (62) won the European Championship alongside him in 1980 and played in Spain for FC Barcelona, ​​Real and Atletico Madrid.

“It almost feels unreal to be given a place alongside one of the great legends of our sport. I didn’t know that I was ready for a museum, but I’m particularly happy about this extraordinary award,” said Lahm.

After he had already been inducted into the Italian Hall of Fame in May, said Rummenigge, “I am all the more pleased that this honor has also been bestowed on me in my home country. For me, the Hall of Fame means above all that the German Football Museum has created a place for personalities whose names are inevitably associated with unforgettable experiences.”.

Lahm gets one vote more than Rummennige

Schuster added: “I have never lost sight of my homeland in all the years in Spain, on the contrary. I have always considered myself Germany’s ambassador to Spain, and I am therefore very proud of this award.”

This year’s additions from women’s football (Christa Kleinhans, Bärbel Wohlleben, Anne Trabant-Haarbach, Ariane Hingst and Nadine Angerer) had already been included in July.

The jury had to decide on the choice of one player each from defence, midfield and attack. Lahm (16 votes), Schuster (9) and Rummenigge (15) clearly prevailed. Only people who had ended their careers at least five years before were eligible for election.

A total of 82 players were shortlisted for the new entry. In particular, outstanding performances in the national team before and after the war, in the former GDR selection and in national and international club football must be taken into account.

A total of 30 players and coaches have been inducted, and 16 players and one coach have been inducted into the Women’s Hall of Fame.

Hall of Fame: These players are in it

  • Men, born 2018 (founding self): Sep Maier; Franz Beckenbauer, Paul Breitner, Andreas Brehme; Günter Netzer, Lothar Matthäus, Fritz Walter, Matthias Sammer; Uwe Seeler, Gerd Müller, Helmut Rahn; Sepp Herberger
  • Women, born 2019 (founding self): Silke Rottenberg; Steffi Jones, Doris Fitschen, Nia Künzer; Renate Lingor, Silvia Neid, Martina Voss-Tecklenburg, Bettina Wiegmann; Inka Grings, Birgit Prinz, Heidi Mohr; Tina Theune
  • Men, born 2019: Oliver Kahn, Hans-Jürgen Dörner, Wolfgang Overath, Jürgen Klinsmann, and Helmut Schön
  • Men, born 2020: Berti Vogts, Michael Ballack, Andreas Möller, Klaus Fischer, Rudi Völler
  • Men, born 2021: Jürgen Kohler, Horst Eckel, Joachim Streich, Miroslav Klose, and Udo Lattek
  • Women, born 2022: Nadine Angerer, Ariane Hingst, Anne Trabant-Haarbach, Christa Kleinhans, Bärbel Wohlleben
  • Men, born 2022: Philipp Lahm, Bernd Schuster, Karl-Heinz Rummenigge


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here