29 C
Sunday, November 27, 2022

These were the winners of the last few years

Today, once again, the winner of the prestigious Ballon d’Or for the 2021/22 season will be chosen. But who were the winners in recent years? SPOX clarifies.

Today, Monday, October 17, it’s that time again, the Ballon d’Or will be awarded to the best player of the past 2021/22 season at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris. No individual prize is more prestigious in football than the “Golden Ball”. The title has been published by the French trade magazine for decades France Football awarded to World Player of the Year – not to be confused with FIFA World Player of the Year. Last year, Lionel Messi, who has the most with seven Ballon d’Ors, topped then-Bayern striker Robert Lewandowski and Chelsea midfielder Jorginho. Karim Benzema probably has the best cards this year.

But how was it in the years before that? SPOX shows you below who was also able to dust off the prize.

Ballon d’Or winners: These were the winners of the last few years

For more than a decade, the two exceptional players Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo made up the awarding of the most prestigious individual awards in the football world, so to speak. From 2008 to 2017, the Ballon d’Or went to “CR7” a whopping five times, with Messi bagging the prize a total of seven times.

Slowly but surely, however, it can be observed how the dominance of the two is waning. The Croatian Luka Modric was already able to win the election in 2018 – it was the first time since the Messi and Ronaldo era that neither of them won the award. Incidentally, the last time that was the case, the winner was Kaka and it was 2007. Messi is no longer among the nominees this year, but Cristiano Ronaldo is, but his victory is considered extremely unlikely.

Ballon d’Or Winners: These have been the winners of the past decade

Year 1st place (Team) 2nd place (Team) 3rd place (Team)
2012 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich)
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)
2015 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Neymar (Barcelona)
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Neymar (Paris Saint Germain)
2018 Luka Modric (Real Madrid) Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
2019 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool) Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)
2020 cancelled
2021 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich) Jorginho (Chelsea)

Ballon d’Or Winners: These are the record winners

number Surname Years
7 Lionel Messi 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021
5 Cristiano Ronaldo 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017
3 Marco van Basten 1988, 1989, 1992
3 John Cruyff 1971, 1973, 1974
3 Michel Platini 1983, 1984, 1985
2 Franz Beckenbauer 1972, 1976
2 Alfredo Di Stefano 1957, 1959
2 Kevin Keegan 1978, 1979
2 ronaldo 1997, 2002
2 Karl Heinz Rummenigge 1980, 1981


Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here